7 popular and classic book series that will encourage your child to read more

Nowadays, we recognise that not every child is a bookworm. Some struggle with reading, while others prefer to take part in more practical hobbies, such as sports or music. 

However, we also know that having time with books can do wonders for a child’s development. Not only does it improve their reading and writing skills, but it also introduces them to worlds far away from their own, and teaches them valuable lessons about themselves.

The concept of ‘comfort characters’ is a real thing, and so we often find that our little ones will feel more encouraged to continue reading books if they can stick with the same set of characters, in the same universe. This is where the notion of book series wonderfully comes into play!

Below, we have set out seven of our all-time favourite book series that can help any child to develop a love of reading. Some of these are a bit more ‘classic’ than others, but they all contain captivating stories that will, hopefully, make your child want to keep turning those pages.

So, without further ado, have a scroll through our top recommendations for children’s book series:

Harry Potter

As it is officially the number one bestselling book series of all time, it should come as no surprise that Harry Potter is at the top of our list! Throughout these seven books (which do get lengthier as they go on), your child can discover the adventures of Harry Potter, a boy who is shocked to discover that he is actually a wizard. Over the series, follow Harry and his two best friends, Ron and Hermione, as they come across all sorts of magical sights, as well as taking on the task of defeating the evil wizard Lord Voldemort.

The Famous Five

Enid Blyton’s series has been around since 1942, and so we would definitely call this one a classic! The Famous Five books follow a group of kids - Julian, Dick, Anne, George and their dog Timmy - as they get up to all sorts of mischief and discover dangerous adventures along the way. With a staggering 21 books in the Famous Five collection, there are plenty of stories for your youngster to devour!

A Series of Unfortunate Events

If your little one is into all things frightening, then they will adore A Series of Unfortunate Events! The tales follow the turbulent and extremely unlucky lives of three orphaned siblings - Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire. Throughout each book, the kids must dodge the relentless pursuits of their arch-nemesis Count Olaf, who is determined to get his hands on their inheritance money. There are 13 novels to enjoy in this series, making it the ideal starting place for any child who wants to explore the world of books.

The Chronicles of Narnia

Alternatively, if your child is obsessed with magic and fantasy, then The Chronicles of Narnia might just be the one for them! C.S. Lewis’ enchanting book series has been beloved around the world since its debut in 1950, and these stories still hold up to this day. In short, the books center around four siblings - Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy Pevensie - as they use a wardrobe to uncover the magical land of Narnia. Once there, they discover that the area is in trouble, and the siblings must team up to save Narnia from the evil White Witch. Your little one will also be delighted to note that there are seven Narnia books for them to enjoy!

Malory Towers

Yes, that’s right - Enid Blyton has written more than one iconic children’s book series! This time, the author takes young readers to a girls’ boarding school named Malory Towers, situated on the idyllic (and sometimes stormy) clifftops of Cornwall. Throughout the next twelve books, kids will delight as they follow Darrell, Alicia, Irene and the other girls as they overcome obstacles such as new friends, terrifying teachers and after-school trouble!

Tracy Beaker

Jacqueline Wilson is well-known for being one of the UK’s most popular children’s authors of all time. One of her most beloved characters is Tracy Beaker, and thankfully, there are a series of books focused on her for your child to enjoy! Ten-year-old Tracy lives in a children’s home and desperately wants to gain a proper home with a real family. Until that day comes, keep up with Tracy’s mischievious ways and hilarious tales as she continues growing up in the so-called ‘Dumping Ground’.

Percy Jackson

Lastly, if you think your child would enjoy being immersed in the world of Greek mythology, then they might end up loving the Percy Jackson series! Officially titled Percy Jackson & the Olympians, these seven books take readers on a wild ride. In the first novel, twelve-year-old Percy Jackson embarks across America to catch a thief who has stolen Zeus’ master bolt. On his journey, and with the help of a satyr and a daughter of Athena, Percy must tackle many battles and come face-to-face with difficult truths.