Schools in these 7 counties are to close tomorrow due to the storm warning

It’s been reported that schools in seven counties are to close their doors tomorrow as a precautionary measure following a Status Red weather alert.

The seven counties include Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon.

The Status Red weather alert includes Cork and Kerry, while Donegal, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon have all been given an Orange weather alert, with snow and wind warnings.

Following a meeting today with the National Emergency Co-ordination Committee, a decision was made that schools in these counties should close tomorrow, and instead turn to online learning, where possible.

As a result, school bus services in these affected areas will not be running.

According to a Met Eireann advisory statement, “Storm Eunice will track quickly over Ireland tonight and Friday morning bringing severe and damaging winds.”

“Southwest winds veering northwest will reach mean speeds in excess of 80 km/h with gusts in excess of 130 km/h. Some coastal flooding, especially at high tide,” the warning continued.

The Department of Education have advised schools in all other counties to open their doors tomorrow, subject to local weather conditions. Schools are to monitor the current weather warnings put in place throughout Friday, paying particular attention to the status warning in their areas.




Hello Mama!
Help us help you by allowing us and our partners to remember your device as having browsed MummyPages and serve you better content and ads

We're on a mission to help our mums and their families thrive by informing, connecting and entertaining.

Join us in our mission by consenting to the use of cookies and IP address recognition by us and our partners to serve you content (including ads) best suited to your interests, both here and around the web.

We promise never to share any other information that may be deemed personal unless you explicitly tell us it's ok.

If you want more info, see our privacy policy.