Almost all junior cycle students take courses leading to the Junior Certificate, the State examination taken at the end of the third year of junior cycle, when students are 15 years of age. Subjects are normally studied at either Ordinary or Higher Level, although three subjects, Irish, English and mathematics, can also be studied at Foundation Level. While a majority of subjects are assessed as part of the Junior Certificate Examination, the junior cycle provision also includes a number of subjects that are integral to the curriculum, but are not formally assessed in this way. The inclusion of these subjects in the curriculum ensures that students receive a broad, balanced education that introduces them to all the areas of experience relevant to the needs of learners at this age and stage of their development. Non-examination subjects at junior cycle include Physical Education, Social, Personal and Health Education and Computer Studies, while Religious Education is available both as an examination and non-examination subject.
Irish Technology
English Home Economics
Mathematics Music
History Art, Craft, Design
Geography Materials Technology (Wood)
Latin Metalwork
Ancient Greek Technical Graphics
Classical Studies Business Studies
Hebrew Studies Typewriting
French Environmental and Social Studies (ESS)
German Civic, Social and Political Education
Spanish Religious Education
Italian Physical Education
Science Social, Personal and Health Education
Source: NCCA website.